MLN Home   MLN Committee    Platform   Legislators   Talking Points   Legislative Day   Geyer  Links  Contact Us

Each year, the Mizzou Legislative Network of the Mizzou Alumni Association awards the Henry S. Geyer Award. The award was named for Representative Geyer of St. Louis; he authored the Geyer Act of 1839, which established the university.

This award recognizes the work of public officials and citizens who have made a positive impact on higher education and Mizzou. Nominees do not have to be MU alumni.

The 2014 Geyer Award nomination form.

2013 Geyer Award Recipients

Representative Mike Thomson

Missouri State Representative Mike Thomson, a Republican, represents Atchison, Holt, Nodaway and Worth Counties (District 1) in the Missouri House of Representatives. He and his wife, Nancy, reside in Maryville and have two daughters and four grandchildren. He is a graduate of Northwest Missouri State University (NWMSU) with a BS in education and an M.Sci. Representative Thomson is a leading education and higher education policy expert in the House of Representatives and chair of the House Higher Education Committee.

Representative Thomson works tirelessly as the chair of the House Higher Education Committee and as a member of the Budget, Education and Joint Education Committees to support the higher education goals and funding in Missouri. Since 2007, he has co-signed and sponsored dozens of legislative bills to support higher education public policy.

These include legislation creating the at-large position for the Board of Curators in the wake of the loss of a congressional district; legislation to improve and equalize Access Missouri and Bright Flight scholarship awards for students at public institutions; legislation improving remedial education, transfer and articulation agreements and reverse transfer policies of the state; legislation establishing the Missouri Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Initiative; legislation for the University of Missouri protecting the private financial records of our potential donors; and several bills related to the elementary and secondary education funding formula.

Thomson is a former teacher, counselor and coach, as well as an instructor and recruiter for NWMSU. He is a member of the Missouri State Teachers Association, Missouri Retired Teachers Association, Missouri School Counselor Association, Optimist Club of Maryville and American Legislative Exchange Council.

Chancellor Emeritus Brady J. Deaton

Chancellor Emeritus Brady Deaton served as chief executive officer of the University of Missouri from 2004 to 2013 and previously served as provost, deputy chancellor, and chief of staff.  He and his wife, Dr. Anne Deaton, are the parents of four children (three of whom are Tigers) and grandparents of seven grandchildren. 

A native of Kentucky, Deaton holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Kentucky and a master’s degree and doctorate in agricultural economics from the University of Wisconsin.  Prior to joining the faculty at Mizzou, he taught at the University of Tennessee and Virginia Tech University, and he served as staff director of the Special Task Force on Food for Peace for the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

President Obama appointed Deaton chair of the Board for International Food and Agricultural Development (BIFAD) in 2011 and reappointed him in 2012 for a four-year term.  He has served as chair of the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) Council on International Initiatives and as a member of the Board of the Donald Danforth Plant Science Center.  Under Deaton’s leadership, the University of Missouri experienced significant increases in enrollment, minority student enrollment, research grants and expenditures, patents and licenses, fundraising and hiring of prestigious faculty. 

Since 2004, Mizzou has reduced its carbon footprint, opened 21 new buildings and transitioned to the Southeastern Conference. Deaton retired from his position as chancellor on November 15, 2013 and will now lead the new Brady and Anne Deaton Institute for University Leadership in International Development.

For Dr. Deaton’s contributions to MU and higher education, he has been awarded the Outstanding Commitment to Multiculturalism and Diversity certificate by the Association of Black Graduate and Professional Students, honored as an invited lecturer at the Japan International Agricultural Council and recognized by Gamma Sigma Delta with an Award of Merit for Outstanding Administrator. He has received the Malone Award from APLU for furthering international education in public higher education and has received honorary degrees from Chonnam National University in Korea, from SHIATS University in India and from two institutions in Thailand — Prince of Songkia University and Khon Kaen University.

Past recipients:

2012: Senator David Pearce and Steven Dickherber, Ben Levin and Zach Toombs
2011: Representative Chris Kelly and Gary Forsee
2010: Senator Kurt Schaefer and Sam Hawkins
2009: Representative Gayle Kingery and Christine Koukola
2008: Congressman Ike Skelton and Mr. Ed Turner
2007: Senators Chuck Gross & Charlie Shields and Mr. R. Barnes Whitlock
2006: Representatives Bryan Pratt & Brian Yates and Mr. Richard Mendenhall
2005: Senator Chuck Graham and Mr. James C. Sterling
2004: Senator John Russell and Mr. Dudley McCarter
2003: Congressman Kenny Hulshof and Dr. Hugh Stephenson Jr., MD
2002: Representative Ted Farnen and Mr. Harry Cornell
2001: Secretary of State Bekki Cook and Dr. Al Hahn
2000: Representative Emmy McClelland and Dr. Melvin George
1999: Senator Christopher "Kit" Bond and Mr. Everett Brown
1998: Senator Ken Jacob and Mr. Chris Kelly
1997: Representative Steve Gaw and Dr. David Leuthold
1996: Senator Joe Moseley and Dr. Charles McClain
1994: Governor Mel Carnahan and Mr. Fred Hall
1993: Lt. Governor Roger Wilson and Mr. John Phillips
1992: Senator James Mathewson and Mr. Bert Bates
*No awards were presented in 1995