At the Mizzou Alumni Association, we value the contributions made to MU by the talented and dedicated students, alumni, faculty and staff of the University of Missouri. Programs to recognize and honor these groups include:

FA award logoFaculty-Alumni Awards
Faculty-Alumni Awards, begun in 1968 by the Mizzou Alumni Association, recognize the achievements of faculty and alumni. Assistant, associate and full professors are considered for their work as teachers, researchers and administrators. Alumni are considered for both their accomplishments in professional life and service to their alma mater.

Richard Wallace Faculty Incentive Grants
The Mizzou Alumni Association supports the development of junior faculty through its Dr. Richard Wallace Faculty Incentive Grants program. Since its initiation in 1994, the alumni association has provided start-up funds to more than 245 junior faculty members for the initiation of research or professional development projects.

Mizzou 39

Mizzou 39
In the spirit of service modeled by the founding families that made possible the 1839 founding of the University of Missouri, the Mizzou Alumni Association Student Board will recognize 39 outstanding seniors for their academic achievement, leadership and service to the University and community. Additionally, each MIZZOU '39 honoree names one faculty or staff member to be recognized for the impact he or she has made on the lives of MU students.

Geyer Award logoHenry S. Geyer Award
Each year, the Mizzou Legislative Network of the Mizzou Alumni Association awards the Henry S. Geyer Award, which was named for Representative Geyer of St. Louis. He authored the Geyer Act of 1839, which established the University, and the award recognizes the work of public officials and citizens who have made a positive impact on higher education and Mizzou.

                                   Spirit of Martha and Emerging Leader Awards
Presented by the Griffiths Leadership Society for Women, the Spirit of Martha Award honors a Mizzou alumna or faculty member who has distinguished herself in her chosen field and exemplified the spirit of leadership, particularly in the furtherance of women. Mizzou alumnae, faculty or staff members with a career of service are eligible for nomination. The award, like the society, is named in honor of alumna Martha Wright Griffiths, B.A. '34. Griffiths served 10 terms in Congress and was the first female lieutenant governor of the state of Michigan. The Emerging Leader Award recognizes an alumna, faculty, or staff member age 35 or under whose career and/or volunteer work embodies the values of service and leadership demonstrated by Griffiths. These awards are presented annually at the spring conference.

Volunteer Leader Awards
These awards honor alumni for ongoing leadership and service to the University through the Mizzou Alumni Association. The Alumni Legacy Award is given for a lifetime of exemplary service. The Tiger Pride Award recognizes sustained, outstanding volunteer efforts and the Mizzou G.O.L.D. Award is for graduates of the last 10 years who have donated laudable time and talents on behalf of Mizzou.

MAA Staff Award logoMizzou Alumni Association MU Staff Award for Alumni Relations Excellence
The Alumni Award was established in 2006 by the Staff Advisory Council to honor a staff member outside the Division of Development and Alumni Relations who exemplifies the alumni association’s concern for fostering good relations with alumni. The award, which consists of a plaque and $1,000 prize, is presented at the Staff Recognition Week awards ceremony.